FAQ

A question regarding Funny Bee or Organic Cosmetics? Below are a sample of the most frequent ones, and our answers. If you have further questions, please go to our «How to contact us?» section.

MADE IN FRANCE

Where are Funny Bee products made?

All our products are designed and made in France, in the heart of the “French Cosmetic Valley” – a worldwide leading centre in perfumery and cosmetics resources, skills, research and training, located between the towns of Orleans and Chartres, about 100 km South from Paris.

Why an English name for a French brand?

An easy cheerful 3-syllables beat: “Funny Bee”. Now, try and say “L’Abeille Joyeuse” … and you will understand right away. Easier and much more fun to say “Funny Bee”, isn’t it?!

NATURAL AND ORGANIC

Natural cosmetics / organic cosmetics: what’s the difference?

Let’s try to be simple. Some brands do use the term “natural” rather freely on their packs, even if they don’t mention the percentage of natural ingredients into their products and even if they use mainly synthetic ingredients and substances, some of which have indeed been proven toxic. With natural and organic certified cosmetics you have the guarantee to use really natural products. Organic-labeled cosmetics must provide a comprehensive list of all their ingredients of natural origin and highlight the percentage of each into their products. They also undergo a full check of those ingredients and of their manufacturing processes, by independent certifying institutions. This way, you know exactly what’s inside!

Most products today are formulated without parabens or silicone, so what are the benefits of an organic label?

An organic label provides a guarantee that only truly natural products are used: an independent organization has verified that these products contained at least 95% of ingredients of natural origin. In addition, it insures that none of the substances suspected or proven harmful to one’s health or to the environment have been added (which goes beyond well-known additives such as parabens or silicone).

What are the ingredients traditionally used in cosmetics that are forbidden by organic labels?

It’s too long a list to mention them all! In principle, organic labels prohibit all ingredients that are to date identified as harmful to the environment, either directly (such as non-biodegradable substances like silicone as well as oils derived from petrochemicals, like paraffin) or through their production (such as PEG and PPG, polymers obtained by dangerous chemical processes). They also prohibit substances that are suspected or proven harmful to one’s health (such as endocrine disrupters like parabens, phthalates and others that are less well-known). While it is true that the toxicity of all these substances is not always proven, many studies have put them into question, particularly because of their accumulation impact, so we might as well avoid using them and choose natural alternatives instead. That’s our take on it anyway.

Natural ingredients or ingredients of natural origin: what difference does it make?

The first are ingredients originating from plants (such as virgin oils), from minerals (such as salts) or from animals (honey or milk, for example), and they are used directly in their natural form. The latter are natural ingredients that have undergone mild processing (condensation, hydrolysis, esterification, etc.) to meet the required level of effectiveness and sensoriality in cosmetic production. For instance, sodium cocoyl glutamate, which is a very soft cleansing agent we use in our Swinging Morning foam, is a naturally occurring ingredient based on amino acids from coconuts. But straight coconut juice does not offer the same properties.

Why don’t all of your ingredients come from organic farming?

Firstly because certain natural ingredients which are not of plant or animal origin (e.g. those of mineral origin) are not “agricultural products”. Secondly, because organic products are by definition unaltered natural products. And (see the question below), if we only used unaltered ingredients, we would have creams which are difficult to apply, a cleansing foam which doesn’t foam, and fluids which don’t soak into the skin… We’ve all tried at least once to make ourselves a home-made cream or face-mask: it’s fun to make it, but in general the texture and smell just aren’t quite right. And finally, because certain of our active ingredients of natural, but not organic, origin are very beneficial for the skin: the date extract in Smile&Play, for example, has excellent anti-ageing properties (clinical studies show that it works better than DHEA). And therefore, we are trying our best to respect our promise to be effective, responsible and sensuous all at the same time.

Are organic cosmetic products 100% safe?

By choosing products certified as organic, you are already guaranteeing against the use of dubious chemical substances. This is as good for your health as it is for the environment. However, certain natural ingredients present in organic cosmetic products can nevertheless sometimes cause allergic reactions. There is no such thing as zero risk as far as allergies are concerned. However, to minimise potential risks, all Funny Bee products have been tested under dermatological supervision.

Are organic cosmetic products actually effective?

Organic cosmetic products generally contain a greater concentration of active ingredients than “traditional” cosmetic products due to the nature of the excipients used in organic cosmetic products. Then, like all cosmetic products, a formula’s precise effectiveness is directly linked to the ingredients of which it is composed. For us, concern about effectiveness is at the heart of our whole process.

PRICES

Why are organic cosmetic products often more expensive?

The great advantage of synthetic products, particularly those which come from petrochemistry and are used by the manufacturers of traditional cosmetic products, is that they are very easy to use and really cheap. For example, liquid paraffin (which has no added value for your skin) used as the principal ingredient for the base of many cosmetic products barely costs anything. This is not the case with pressed vegetable oils, which we use and which have real benefits for the skin (vitamins, essential fatty acids…) All that matters is to know what you want!

Certain brands of organic cosmetics offer products which are cheaper than those of Funny Bee. How do you account for these price differences?

From the number and quality of the ingredients. You can easily create organic products with few ingredients and choose those ingredients by looking at price as a priority. At Funny Bee we do things differently. We don’t hesitate to select almost “luxury” active ingredients when we believe that they are worth the effort and the cost for the global effectiveness of their formula and for their quality and rich sensuous texture.

OUR FORMULAS

How can we know exactly what is used in cosmetic-care products?

All cosmetic-care products must display a complete list of ingredients in descending order of their amounts, using their “International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients” (INCI) name. Unless you hold a PhD in chemistry, however, these names will be meaningless to you. Most are quite a mouthful and nothing distinguishes the good from the bad; such a list is akin to a black hole! Because we seek greater transparency, we have listed and deciphered each ingredient we use in our products, under the “Formulation” heading. Granted, it’s not much fun to read, but at least it will give you a clear, “transparent” idea of the ingredients we use and why we use them.

Why do you use floral waters in your formulas rather than regular water?

Filtered water – which is the most frequently used water in cosmetic products – has no added value for the skin. And since a standard cream contains approximately 65% water, it’s a real shame that this has no added value! So that’s why we prefer to use floral waters. They are more expensive to buy than filtered water (which costs very little, like water at home…) but they are also endowed with specific properties – softening, astringent, brightening or calming. – and they make our products more effective because they have a real added value for the skin.

How can you tell if a cosmetic product uses floral waters rather than “filtered water”?

It’s vey easy. Just have a look at the INCI list – which is the mandatory list of ingredients which appears on the packaging of all cosmetic products. If “Aqua” is the first ingredient, then the product is made with “filtered water”.

Are there synthetic preservatives in your products?

Less that 2% and those that we use are all ecologically tested and certified “clean”.

Are there GM ingredients in your products?

No. We are personally against genetically modified organisms in nature and on our plates. As much as genetic engineering in a laboratory can be useful for research and to help treat illnesses, it is just as irresponsible to want to disseminate genetically modified organisms and make us eat them when there are a lot of significant studies highlighting the risks of genetically modified organisms to our health and to the environment.

Why are there so many ingredients in your formulas?

Because creating products which are natural, really effective, as nice to use as our old favourite chemical creams and which last for at least six months, involves formulas which are much more elaborate than those home-made creams that you can make in your kitchen. Life is like that – sometimes you need to put in a lot of work to get a natural pretty result!

Have Funny Bee products been tested on animals?

No. Our brand philosophy is based on respect. For our clients, for their skin, for the environment and also for animals.

FAQ

Une question sur Funny Bee ou la cosmétique bio ? Voilà celles qu’on nous pose le plus souvent. Si vous en avez d’autres, n’hésitez pas à nous en faire part. La rubrique «Contactez-nous» est là pour ça !

MADE IN FRANCE

Où sont fabriqués vos produits ?

Tous nos produits sont conçus et fabriqués en France, au sein du pôle de compétitivité de la Cosmetic Valley, premier centre de ressources mondial de la cosmétique en matière de savoir-faire, de recherche et de formation, situé entre l’Eure et Loir (Chartres) et le Loiret (Orléans). Cocoricocobzzzzz !

Pourquoi pas un nom français ?

Parce que les 3 syllabes toutes gaies de Funny Bee – FEUNIBI  – c’est beaucoup plus fun à prononcer que « l’abeille joyeuse » et aussi parce que l’anglais est une langue qui permet d’exprimer beaucoup de chose en peu de mots. Swinging Morning, ça tient moins de place sur un étui que « la mousse des matins qui swinguent ». Funny Bee n’en est pas moins une marque française et fière de l’être ! Re-cocoricobzzzz !

NATURELS ET BIO

Cosmétiques naturels / cosmétiques bio, quelle est la différence ?

Pas simple de s’y retrouver , d’autant que l’utilisation du mot “naturel” n’est encadré par aucune règlementation. Du coup, certaines marques ont mis le naturel à toutes les sauces (au moins sur le packaging…) alors qu’elles ne mentionnent pas leur pourcentage réel d’ingrédients naturels et comportent encore beaucoup d’ingrédients synthétiques dont certains sont très controversés. A la différence des cosmétiques qui s’autoproclament naturels, les cosmétiques labellisés bio sont tenus d’afficher leur pourcentage réel d’ingrédients d’origine naturelle, leur pourcentage réel d’ingrédients bio et font l’objet d’une certification par un organisme indépendant qui a contrôlé la totalité de leur composition et de leurs process de fabrication. Comme ça, les choses sont claires et vous pouvez choisir en connaissance de cause.

Beaucoup de produits sont aujourd’hui formulés sans parabens, sans silicone... Qu’apporte de plus un label bio ?

En plus de garantir des produits réellement naturels parce qu’ils ont fait l’objet d’une certification par un organisme indépendant qui a contrôlé qu’ils contenaient bien au moins 95 % d’ingrédients d’origine naturelle, l’intérêt d’un label bio est de garantir également la non-utilisation de l’ensemble des substances suspectées ou avérées nocives pour la santé et l’environnement et pas seulement des plus connues, comme les parabens ou les silicones.

Quels sont les ingrédients utilisés en cosmétique traditionnelle et qui sont interdits par les labels bio ?

La liste est trop longue pour les citer tous. Sur le principe, les labels bio interdisent tous les ingrédients qui, à date, sont identifiés comme dommageable à l’environnement soit directement (ex : les substances non biodégradables comme les silicones mais aussi les huiles issues de la pétrochimie, type paraffine…), soit par leur mode de production (ex. : les PEG et PPG, obtenus par des process chimiques dangereux). Et également les ingrédients suspectés ou avérés nocifs pour la santé (ex : les perturbateurs endocriniens comme les parabens ou les phtalates mais il y en a d’autres moins connus). La toxicité pour la santé de toutes ces substances n’est pas toujours avérée mais dans la mesure où un certain nombre d’études les mettent en cause, notamment à cause de l’effet d’accumulation, et puisque des alternatives naturelles existent, autant éviter de les utiliser. C’est en tout cas notre position.

Ingrédients naturels et d’origine naturelle, quelle différence ?

Les premiers sont des ingrédients d’origine végétale (ex. : les huiles vierges), minérale (ex : les sels) ou animale (ex : le miel ou le lait) qui sont utilisés directement sous leur forme naturelle. Les deuxièmes sont des ingrédients naturels qui ont subi une transformation douce (condensation, hydrolyse, estérification…) pour correspondre aux exigences inhérentes à la fabrication d’un cosmétique en termes d’efficacité et de sensorialité. Par exemple, le Sodium cocoyl glutamate qui est un tensio-actif (agent lavant et moussant) extrêmement doux que nous utilisons pour notre mousse Swinging Morning est un actif d’origine naturelle à base d’acides aminés issus de la noix de coco. Le simple jus de noix de coco n’a pas du tout les mêmes propriétés.

Pourquoi la totalité de vos ingrédients n’est-elle pas issue de l’agriculture bio ?

Ce qui nous importe avant tout, c’est de créer des soins naturels efficaces et sensoriels. Nous privilégions autant que possible les ingrédients bio. Mais il faut savoir que seuls les ingrédients naturels non transformés (eaux florales, huiles végétales…) peuvent prétendre à l’appellation bio et nous ne voulons pas nous priver d’actifs d’origine naturelle transformés lorsqu’ils présentent un réel intérêt pour la peau. Par exemple, l’extrait de datte breveté présent dans notre crème Smile&Play, a d’excellentes propriétés anti-âge mais comme c’est un actif sophistiqué issu de la biotechnologie, il ne peut être « bio ». Par ailleurs, si on n’utilisait que des ingrédients naturels non transformés, on se retrouverait avec des crèmes difficiles à étaler, des mousses qui ne mousseraient pas et des fluides qui ne pénétreraient pas… On a toutes essayé au moins une fois de se concocter une crème ou un masque « maison » : c’est sympa de le faire, mais en général, côté texture et odeur, c’est pas vraiment ça.

Les cosmétiques bio sont-ils 100 % sûrs ?

Choisir des produits certifiés bio, c’est déjà se garantir contre l’utilisation de l’ensemble des substances jugées ou suspectées « douteuses » pour la santé. Mais certains ingrédients présents dans la cosmétique bio – notamment les huiles essentielles utilisés pour la conservation des produits ou leur parfum – peuvent néanmoins se révéler allergisants. Si on veut des produits qui sentent bon sans parfum artificiel et utiliser le moins possible de conservateur de synthèse, on n’a pas encore trouvé d’autre solution. Le risque zéro n’existe pas en matière d’allergie mais pour minimiser les risques éventuels, tous les soins Funny Bee ont été testés sous contrôle dermatologique.

Les produits cosmétiques bio sont-ils réellement efficaces ?

Les produits cosmétiques bio contiennent généralement une plus grande concentration d’ingrédients actifs que les produits cosmétiques « traditionnels » en raison de la nature des excipients utilisés. Comme pour tous les produits cosmétiques, l’efficacité précise de la formule est directement liée aux ingrédients qui la composent. Chez Funny Bee, l’efficacité du produit est au cœur de notre philosophie.

LES PRIX

Pourquoi les cosmétiques bio sont-ils souvent plus cher ?

Le grand intérêt des produits de synthèse, notamment ceux issus de la pétrochimie utilisés par dans les cosmétiques traditionnels, c’est qu’ils sont très facile à utiliser et surtout pas cher du tout. Par exemple, l’huile de paraffine (zéro valeur ajoutée pour la peau), utilisée comme ingrédient principal de nombreuses produits cosmétiques, ne coûte pratiquement rien, ce qui n’est pas le cas des huiles vierges bio premières pression à froid que nous utilisons et qui ont elles de vraies vertus pour la peau. Le tout est de savoir ce qu’on veut !

Certaines marques de cosmétiques bio proposent des produits moins chers que ceux de Funny Bee. D’où viennent les différences de prix ?

Du nombre et de la qualité des ingrédients. On peut très bien fabriquer des soins bio avec peu de d’ingrédients et les choisir en regardant en priorité leur coût. Chez Funny Bee, nous faisons autrement et nous n’hésitons pas à sélectionner des actifs quasi « luxueux » quand nous jugeons qu’ils valent le coup/le coût pour l’efficacité globale de la formule et aussi la qualité et la sensorialité des textures. Et comme nos produits sont tous multi-fonctions, ça évite de multiplier les produits sur l’étagère et ça permet de faire des économies ! Par exemple notre soin Crazy Me est un soin anti-fatigue pour le visage ET le contour des yeux…

LA COMPOSITION

Comment savoir ce qu’il y a exactement dans un soin cosmétique ?

Tous les cosmétiques doivent afficher sur leur pack la liste complète des ingrédients dans l’ordre décroissant de leur quantité et sous leur dénomination INCI (*International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients). Mais sauf si vous avez un doctorat de chimie, les lire est une chose, savoir ce qu’ils signifient en est une autre. Sans compter que comme la plupart ont des noms « à coucher dehors », ce n’est pas du tout évident de distinguer les « bons » des « moins bons ». Du coup, la composition des produits est souvent une sorte de « boîte noire »… Pour plus de transparence, nous avons listé et décodé les ingrédients de chacun de nos soins dans la rubrique «Composition » de chaque soin. Ce n’est pas forcément très fun à lire mais cela vous permettra d’avoir une idée précise des ingrédients que nous utilisons et de voir à quoi ils servent.

Pourquoi utiliser des eaux florales à la place de l’eau filtrée dans vos soins ?

L’eau filtrée – celle qui est utilisée le plus souvent en cosmétique – n’apporte rien à la peau. Et comme une crème standard comporte environ 65 % d’eau, c’est quand même dommage ! Voilà pourquoi nous utilisons de préférence des eaux florales, plus chères à l’achat mais dotées de propriétés spécifiques – adoucissantes, astringentes, éclaircissantes ou apaisantes… – pour maximiser l’efficacité de nos soins.

Comment savoir si un cosmétique utilise des eaux florales et non de “l'eau filtrée” ?

Très simple. Il suffit de jeter un œil sur la liste INCI – la liste des ingrédients obligatoire sur tous les packs en cosmétique. Si Aqua apparait en premier c’est que le produit est formulé avec de l’eau “filtrée”.

Y-a-t'il des conservateurs de synthèse dans vos produits ?

Nous en utilisons en très faible quantité (maximum 2 %) et ce sont tous des conservateurs certifiés écologiques. Nous utilisons par ailleurs des flacons « airless » qui permettent de maximiser la conservation de façon naturelle.

Utilisez-vous des huiles essentielles ?

Nous préférons éviter les huiles essentielles comme principes actifs car elles peuvent se révéler très allergisantes et nos soins sont formulés pour correspondre à tous les types de peaux, même sensibles.

Pourquoi y a-t-il autant d'ingrédients dans vos formules ?

Parce que pour offrir des soins qui soient à la fois naturels, réellement efficaces, agréables à utiliser et multi-fonctions, cela demande des formules beaucoup plus élaborées que les « crèmes maison » qu’on peut se concocter chez soi. C’est comme dans la vie, il faut parfois beaucoup de travail pour obtenir un joli résultat naturel…

Est-ce que les produits Funny Bee sont testés sur les animaux ?

Non. Notre philosophie de marque est fondé sur le respect. De nos clientes, de leur peau, de l’environnement et aussi des animaux. L’engagement de ne pas tester les produits sur les animaux est d’ailleurs inscrit dans la charte Cosmebio à laquelle nous adhérons à 100 %.